Professional Standards for Lung Cancer Nurse Specialists | Lung Cancer Nursing UK Skip to main content

Professional Standards for Lung Cancer Nurse Specialists

Professional standards for practice and behaviour for nurses, midwives and nursing associates are set out by the Nursing & Midwifery Council in the Nursing and Midwifery Code. All nurses are expected to be familiar with the Code and must uphold these standards to be registered to practise in the UK.

The Code exists to protect the public and to give patients confidence that their nurse is registered and fit to practise within the limits of their competence. It covers four themes, with specific standards under each theme:

In addition to the professional standards that we expect all nurses to uphold, in designing this Professional Development Framework for LCNSs, LCNUK has overlaid four additional domains that we expect LCNSs to develop and apply in their professional practice. These are based on the four pillars of advanced practice:

Join Lung Cancer Nursing UK

Be a member of a dynamic and cohesive forum of lung cancer nurse specialists (LCNS) working throughout the UK. Membership costs just £30 per year and is open to any specialist nurse who spends more than 50% of their working week or clinical activities in caring for patients with lung cancer.

Join Now

Annual Conference

Join us for the LCNUK Conference 2024, the go-to event for any nurse working in lung cancer.

Held Thursday 20th - Friday 21st June at the Hilton Hotel, Glasgow. In this year’s event we’ll be returning to the fundamentals that are so important to our role focusing on patient centred care and symptom management.

Find out more